One advantage to going to Drexel is that there’s a card shop just 5 minutes away that I can walk to in order to get to the midnight releases of sets. I’ve done this all year, and have been to the midnights of all three Theros sets.

That being said, I am not an expert at Limited. In fact, I tend to think of myself as being fairly bad at Sealed. That being said, here’s what I ended up playing:

CREATURES (19):

1x Aegis of the Gods (Rare)
1x Dawnbringer Charioteers (Rare)
1x Fate Unraveler (Rare)
1x Gnarled Scarhide
2x Grim Guardian
1x Hopeful Eidolon
1x Medomai the Ageless (Mythic)
1x Nyx-Fleece Ram
1x Observant Alseid
1x Omenspeaker
1x Pharika’s Chosen
1x Shipwreck Singer
1x Sightless Brawler
1x Sigiled Starfish
1x Tethmos High Priest
1x Thassa’s Devourer
1x Triton Fortune Hunter
1x Underworld Coinsmith

NON-CREATURES (4)

1x Asphyxiate
1x Font of Fortunes
1x Thassa’s Ire
1x Traveler’s Amulet

LANDS (17)

5x Island
7x Plains
5x Swamp

I ended up going 3-1 with my Esper deck. The main plan of the deck was to use theĀ Constellation mechanic to slowly wear down my opponents while playing slightly larger creatures (Grim Guardian is a 1/4, “Scryfish” is a 0/3) and life gain (Nyx-Fleece Ram + Hopeful Eidolon) to just stay ahead of other decks.

Round 1 – Orzhov Heroic

Dawnbringer-Charioteers-Journey-into-Nyx

I played against one of the people I came to the event with, and promptly got mana screwed game 1 – mulled to three, no lands in any of my hands and pretty handedly lost. Game two was a little better, but got over run by a Dawnbringer Charioteers with Vigilance and Lifelink. I managed to get Medomai out this game, but it got Gilded immediately.

Round 2 – Boros

brimaz-king-of-oreskos

My opponent pulled a Brimaz but never saw him in our match

This guy managed to pull a Brimaz, but didn’t see it either game. It was a pretty quick 2-0 win for me. He saw no white either game, and his red was lacking. He had switched from Black/White to Red/White after getting wrecked in round 1. His deck was actually fairly decent, as I looked at it after the match. He just got mana-screwed like I did in round 1.

Round 3 – Selesnya Heroic

fate-unraveler

Fate Unraveler, key to my Round 3 victory

This was a really great round. The guy I played hadn’t played the game in about 10 years, and this was his first event, and he opened a Foil Elspeth, Sun’s Champion! Needless to say, I lost to it game 1 when he drew it. Game two however, I managed to whittle him down between Fate Unraveler, Underworld Coinsmith and Grim Guardians. Game three ended up going to time, but I won with the same combination as above on turn 0/5.

Round 4 – Rakdos Minotaurs

He straight-up drafted Minotaur. 3 lords, Scourge of Valkas, and Felhide minotaurs all over the place. However, he got mana screwed two games and I got the 2-0 win without seeing much of his deck in action.

Sadly, at my pre-release 3-1 only gets 4 packs. Junk rares galore.

All in all, while I didn’t nearly make my $30 back, I did get to see how effective the new Constellation Mechanic is in Limited. It’s a very feasible strategy in Limited, but I am unsure how effective it will be in regular draft, however. It works better here in Sealed because of having essentially 3 Journey Into Nyx (2 regular packs and the seeded pack) packs, 1 Born of the Gods and 2 Theros.

I’m not quite sure when I’ll be drafting this set any time soon, but I’ll be bringing you plenty more content soon.

– SolemnParty

