Asmira, Holy Avenger is a Legendary Human Cleric from Mirage, and not a bad card at that. For whatever reason, this human cleric has flying, and is a 2/3 flyer for 2GW; not a bad deal in my opinion. However, it gets better; at the end of each of your turns, Asmira gets a +1/+1 counter for each creature you lost this turn.

Personally, I believe that she goes best with tokens and Skullclamp, as tokens are treated as having gone to the graveyard. I don’t know if I’d build my deck around her, but she’s a fairly decent card in Ghave or other Green/White token decks.

Due to the Innistrad block, Asmira also gains a lot of support in the form of Human tribal mechanics.

Cards to play in an Asmira, Holy Avenger deck:

  • Gather the Townsfolk
  • Fungal Sprouting
  • Doubling Season
  • Parallel Lives
  • Increasing Devotion
  • Gavony Township
  • Skullclamp

Cards to play Asmira with:

  • Ghave, Guru of Spores
  • All of the Above
